Tyne Central Council

Tyne Central Council covers the area of the RC Diocese of Hexham & Newcastle, comprising Northumberland, Tyne and Wear, Durham and part of Cleveland north of the River Tees. There are 92 Conferences in the area, divided between 14 District Councils (see below), with a total of 778 members.

For the roles and responsibilities of Central Councils, see Central Councils of England & Wales.

The Tyne Central Council President is Michael Willcock, who can be contacted via the SVP National Office. If you are a member, you can also log-in to the secure Central Council page for more information.

District Councils within Central Council Area

District Council
Alnwick District Council
Durham East District Council
Durham North West District Council
Durham South West District Council
East Northumberland District Council
Gateshead East District Council
Gateshead West District Council
Hartlepool District Council
Jarrow District Council
Newcastle North East District Council
Newcastle North West District Council
North Shields District Council
Stockton District Council
Sunderland District Council

Community Projects/Special Works

Type of Special Work Name of Special Work Contact
Community Shops 3 shops in Kenton, Blakelaw and Dunston Steve Milburn
Support Centre Blackfriars Care Centre Dawn Hoy
Debt Counselling SVP Debt Counselling Unit Paul Beckwith and Pat Finnon
Family Holidays Sandy Bay Caravan Albert Porter
Family Holidays Gilsland Spa Hotel Jackie Irwin
Residential Care St Vincent New Bridges Angela Houghton
Residential Care Ozanam House Approved Premises Chris Gelder
Residential Care St Christopher's Approved Premises Peter Faill
Community Minibus Community Transport Ritchie Gordon
Furniture Project Quarry Road Furniture Store Jim Turner
Disability Project Deaf Club Iris Garbett
Holiday Camp Holy Island Camp Sr Josepha